Camellia Sinensis is an evergreen bush whose leaves, after harvested, quickly start to oxidize, getting darker as soon as the circulation of chlorophyll is interrupted.

A major secret of its processing, giving birth to several kinds of tea and differentiated qualities, consists in knowing how to stop leaves' oxidation at a certain point, removing its water through heating. The name of this process is fermentation.

Using the usual terminology, we can classify the main types of tea by their fermentation degree: white tea (non-fermented, produced from tender leaves), green tea (lightly fermented), oolong tea (medium fermentation, between green tea and black tea, but with gustatory characteristics closer to the green tae) and, finally, black tea (well fermented and strong).


It’s amazing to see that a single plant, with a complex chemical composition, can give birth to a variety of aromas and flavours according to cultivation, harvest and preparation conditions and leaves packaging.


  • 01
  • banner22
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • fale
  • despesasgratis
  • prove
  • despesasgratis30

Connect with us

Receive our newsletter

Follow Us


IT By Jugais © 2012 Todos os Direitos ReservadosDeveloped by Bsolus.pt

ENTER or Become a member


My shopping cart

Cart empty

Our website uses cookies, as almost all websites do. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
« Find out more »

Google Analytics Alternative